The Ivy League is a collegiate athletic conference comprising sports teams from eight private institutions of higher education in the Northeastern United States. The conference name is also commonly used to refer to those eight schools as a group. The eight institutions are Brown University, Columbia University, Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Harvard University, the University of Pennsylvania, Princeton University, and Yale University. The term Ivy League has connotations of academic excellence, selectivity in admissions, and social elitism. MORE
186 connected topics in order of relevance
Penn–Princeton basketball rivalry
The Penn–Princeton basketball rivalry is an American college basketball rivalry between the Penn Quakers men's basketball team of the University of Pennsylvania and Princeton Tigers men's basketball team of Princeton University. Having been contested every year since 1903, it is the third oldest consecutively played rivalry in National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I history. Unlike many notable college basketball rivalries, such as Carolina–Duke, which involves teams that often both get invited to the same NCAA tournaments, Notre Dame–UCLA, which involves geographically remote teams, Illinois–Missouri, which involves non-conference rivals, or Alabama–Auburn, which takes a back seat to the football rivalry, this is a rivalry of geographically close, conference rivals, who compete for a single NCAA invitation and consider the basketball rivalry more important than other sports rivalries between the schools. A head-to-head contest has been the final regularly scheduled game of the Princeton season every year since 1995. Between 1963 and 2007, Princeton or Penn won or shared the Ivy League conference championship every season except 1986 and 1988. The other seasons in which neither team won or shared the Ivy League title are 1957, 1958, 1962, 2008–10, and 2012. The two programs dominate Ivy basketball in almost every way. Entering the 2013–14 NCAA Division I men's basketball season, 11 of the 12 active Division I basketball head coaches who are Ivy basketball alumni are from these two programs: Penn – Jerome Allen (Penn), Matt Langel (Colgate), Fran McCaffery (Iowa) and Andrew Toole (Robert Morris); Princeton – Mitch Henderson (Princeton), Sydney Johnson (Fairfield), Chris Mooney (Richmond), Craig Robinson (Oregon State), Joe Scott (Denver), John Thompson III (Georgetown) and Mike Brennan (American).
Mediander uses proprietary software that curates millions of interconnected topics to produce the Mediander Topics search results. As with any algorithmic search, anomalous results may occur. If you notice such an anomaly, or have any comments or suggestions, please contact us.